General Voting Day:  Saturday, November 15, 2014 


PUBLIC NOTICE IS HEREBY given to the electors of the Township of Langley that an election by voting is necessary to elect one Mayor, eight Councillors, and five School Trustees for a four year term commencing December 2014.  As required under section 77(5) of the Local Government Act, “Jurisdiction of Residence” is provided as indicated.

The persons nominated as candidates and for whom votes will be received are:

MAYOR – One (1) to be elected
Name Jurisdiction of Residence
FROESE, Jack Township of Langley
GREEN, Rick Township of Langley
OH, Serena Township of Langley

COUNCILLOR – Eight (8) to be elected
Name Jurisdiction of Residence
ARNASON, Petrina Township of Langley
BUCHANAN, Karl Township of Langley
BUCHOLTZ, Solon Township of Langley
DAVIS, David Township of Langley
DORNAN, Bev Township of Langley
ETTENBERG, Zosia Township of Langley
FERGUSON, Steve Township of Langley
FOX, Charlie Township of Langley
KOSITSKY, Mel Township of Langley
LEE, Clint (Live Langley) Township of Langley
LESSARD, Patricia Township of Langley
LONG, Bob Township of Langley
MANDZAK, Jackie Township of Langley
MITCHELL, Kevin Township of Langley
NICHOLS, Scott Township of Langley
QUAALE, Angie Township of Langley
RICHTER, Kim Township of Langley
ROSS, Kerri (Live Langley) Township of Langley
SPARROW, Michelle Township of Langley
STARK, Dave Township of Langley
WARD, Grant Township of Langley
WHITMARSH, Blair Township of Langley

SCHOOL TRUSTEE – Five (5) to be elected
Name Jurisdiction of Residence
HANDEL, Trudy Township of Langley
MCVEIGH, Alison Township of Langley
WALLACE, Rosemary Township of Langley
BALDWIN, Lorraine Township of Langley
COMBS, Pamala-Rose Township of Langley
ROSS, Rod Township of Langley
KETTER, Kristine Township of Langley
MOORE, Lisa Township of Langley
CHEN, Lawrence City of Surrey
DYKEMAN, Megan Township of Langley
PERREAULT, Suzanne Township of Langley
TOD, David Township of Langley


Voting will be open to qualified electors of the Township of Langley on Saturday, November 15, 2014, between the hours of 8:00am and 8:00pm at the following locations.

1. Aldergrove Community Secondary School 26850 – 29 Avenue
2. Coghlan Community Hall* 6795 – 256 Street
3. D.W. Poppy Secondary School 23752 - 52 Avenue
4. Dorothy Peacock Elementary School 20292 - 91A Avenue
5. Fort Langley Elementary School 8877 Bartlett Street
6. George Preston Recreation Centre 20699 - 42 Avenue
7. Glenwood Elementary School 20785 – 24 Avenue
8. James Hill Elementary School 22144 Old Yale Road
9. James Kennedy Elementary School 9060 – 212 Street
10. Lynn Fripps Elementary School 21020 – 83 Avenue
11. Parkside Centennial Elementary School 3300 – 270 Street
12. R.C. Garnett Demonstration Elementary School 7096 - 201 Street
13. Wix-Brown Elementary School 23851 – 24 Avenue

*All of these locations are wheelchair accessible with the exception of Coghlan Community Hall. Some voters may experience difficulty with access at Fort Langley Elementary, Glenwood Elementary and Wix-Brown Elementary Schools.


If you are not on the List of Registered Electors, (visit www.tol.ca/elections to determine if you are on the list) you may register at the time of voting by completing the required application form at the “New Registration” table in the voting place. To register you must meet ALL the following qualifications:

  • 18 years of age or older on the day of registration
  • Canadian citizen
  • resident of B.C. for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration
  • resident of the Township of Langley for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration
  • not otherwise disqualified by law from voting.

All voters, as well as those resident electors registering at the time of voting, are required to produce 2 pieces of identification (at least one with a signature). Picture identification is not necessary, although helpful in identifying the voter. The identification must show both residency and identity.


Persons (not corporations) who own property in the Township of Langley but live outside the Township, may register to vote as a Non-Resident Property Elector. To register you must meet ALL the following qualifications:

  • 18 years of age or older on the day of registration
  • Canadian citizen
  • resident of B.C. for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration
  • registered owner of real property in the Township of Langley for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration
  • not otherwise disqualified by law from voting.

In addition to the required ID, non-resident property electors will be required to produce a recent title search print from the Land Title Office. Corporations do not have the right to vote, and only one individual for a parcel of land may vote. In the case of multiple owners of a parcel of land, a majority of the owners must sign a consent form, designating one of the property owners to vote. If a corporation is one of the owners, the property does not qualify as a non-resident property. The Non-Resident Property Elector form and Consent form are available at the Civic Facility, 20338 65 Avenue, Langley.

A person can only vote once in the election, either as a resident of the Township of Langley or as a Non-Resident Property Elector. City of Langley residents who own property in the Township cannot vote for School Trustees in the Township.


Advance voting will be open at the Township of Langley Civic Facility, Willowbrook Recreation Centre, 20338 – 65 Avenue, in the Main Activity Room on the main floor on each of the following days:

Saturday, November 1, 2014 from 9:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday November 5, 2014 from 8:00am to 8:00pm
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 from 8:00am to 8:00pm


The Township of Langley will be utilizing voting machines which optically read the ballots as they are inserted by the electors. The List of Registered Electors is in electronic format (rather than on paper) and Voter Notification Cards will be mailed out to registered resident electors the last week of October. These Voter Notification Cards feature a barcode which election officials will scan to bring the voter’s name up on the computer at each voting place.


Candidates are not permitted under the Township of Langley Bylaws to erect election signs outside buildings or on properties before Sunday, October 26, 2014 and all election signs are required to be removed by 4:30pm, Wednesday, November 19, 2014.

Township Bylaws No. 4402 (Sign Bylaw) and No. 4840 (Highway and Traffic Control Bylaw) regulate the erection of election signs on private and public property.

Neither the Township of Langley nor School District No. 35 permit the use of its logos, heraldic emblems or similar corporate identifiers for the purpose of any candidate’s campaign activities.

Candidate campaigning financing, Electoral Organization campaign financing and Third Party Sponsors are administered by Elections BC and not by the Township of Langley. The requirements for campaign financing and third part sponsors can be found within the “Local Elections Campaign Financing Act” or by contacting Elections BC at 1-855-952-0280 or http://www.elections.bc.ca/index.php/local-elections-campaign-financing/

More Information

Bob Wilson
Chief Election Officer

Wendy Bauer
Deputy Chief Election Officer

Or visit:
Copyright © Township of Langley
  Twitter  YouTube  RSS 
20338 - 65 Avenue Langley, BC V2Y 3J1