Home      |    Entertainment   |    Family Fun


Indigenous Awareness

The Township of Langley is on the traditional territories of the Coast Salish People, and wishes to acknowledge its growing relationships with the q̓ʷɑ:n̓ƛ̓ən̓ (Kwantlen),  q̓ic̓əy̓ (Katzie), Máthekwi (Matsqui), and se’mya’me (Semiahmoo) First Nations.

Resources to help non-Indigenous Canadians and Indigenous peoples move forward together in a good way:

  • Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
  • Information about the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
  • Native-land.ca provides educational content to correct the way people speak about colonialism and indigeneity, and to encourage territory awareness in speech and action.
  • The First Peoples’ Map of B.C. is a living and interactive space that represents diverse yet interwoven languages, arts, and cultural heritage.
  • NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations.
  • Reconciliation Canada is leading the way in engaging Canadians in dialogue and transformative experiences that revitalize the relationships among Indigenous peoples and all Canadians. This model for reconciliation engages people in open and honest conversation to understand our diverse histories and experiences.
  • ICT's mission is to provide training to get everyone working effectively with Indigenous peoples in their day-to-day jobs and lives. They do this by providing a safe training environment for learners to acquire the knowledge, skills, and attitude required to be effective.

Other Resources

Working Effectively with Indigenous Peoples

Principles respecting the Government of Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act

Indigenous Culture & Heritage

Canadian Museums Association Reconciliation Program

Township of Langley             Langley Centennial Museum                    Government of Canada                Supported by the Province of British Columbia