Municipal Government

In Canada, the powers of municipal government are delegated by provincial government statute. In British Columbia, the Local Government Act and Community Charter sets out the role and function of municipalities. Municipal government in BC consists of an elected Mayor and Council which serve four-year terms. The Mayor and Council are responsible for establishing policies for the community and adopting bylaws based on these policies.

Municipal staff are responsible for translating policy into action and delivering various municipal services such as public works, engineering, community development, recreation, culture, and parks, and protective services.